top of page
Search
  • dokken121212

Flight 4, Goose Bay Airport(CYYR), Newfoundland to St John's Airport (CYYT), Newfoundland, Canada

This was the fourth leg of the round the world trip and was flown on February 22nd 2021. The flight distance was a little smaller than usual of 508 nautical miles taking just over 2 hours to fly. This brings the cumulative total distance covered to 3,036 nautical miles with 11 hours 23 minutes behind the stick.


This was a trip with very little of great interest consisting of flying over barren forested, snow covered land with some nice lakes and rivers. Interestingly, the sea colour on the flight across the Labrador Sea was stunning - it was a good day for flying and the sun was out - so this likely had an effect on the lovely azure colour of the sea. Coming in to land at St John's airport was a little tricky as the ILS (Instrument Landing System) was engaged and I was following a glideslope but could not see the runway ahead. It was not until I was only a few miles out that I then could see it - pretty much fully covered in snow!!!. Successful landing all the same and that's what matters :-)


I am from this point going to upload my flight plan as well as a satellite shot of each airport with the runway I landed on clearly marked. Additionally, from this point on (as previously I have been flying over snow covered wasteland!!!) I will endeavour to visit 'Points of Interest' on as many flights as possible.


The next flight is from St John's International to Stanfield International, Halifax, Nova Scotia. En-route I will detour to visit the famous Confederation Bridge that links Prince Edward's Island to New Brunswick and mainland Canada.



Gallery



16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page